CANCELLED
St. Patrick’s parade
in Quebec

The parade

  • 50 000 + visitors
  • 1000 + participants
  • 120 + volunteers

Saturday, March 21, 2020, from 2:00 PM
Downtown Québec City
Celebrate the wearing of the green!

On Saturday March 21, downtown Québec City will echo to the sounds of bagpipes and the footsteps of participants in the 11th annual Saint Patrick’s Day Parade!

Classic elements

A parade with plenty of music!

The renowned Pipes and Drums quintet consisting of the police forces of Boston (Boston Police Gaelic Column), New York (Pipes & Drums of the New York Emerald Society), Chicago (Pipes and Drums of the Chicago Police Department), Toronto (the Toronto Fire Services Pipes and Drums) and Philadelphia (Philadelphia Police and Fire Pipes and Drums). The Défilé de la Saint-Patrick de Québec offers a unique opportunity to experience these five groups perform in the same parade.

What’s more, we welcome the Québec City police force parade unit (Service de police de la Ville de Québec), the RCMP Pipes, Drums and Dancers, the local 78th Fraser Highlanders – Fort St. Andrews, the Montréal Pipes and Drums, NCSM Montcalm, the Rouge & Or Drumline, the Titans, the Éclairs and the Druméthiques of Québec City. A total of 10 bands will take part in the parade this year!

A colourful parade

At the same time, local citizens will parade with Irish wolfhounds, and will march in groups representing Celtic dance troupes, leprechauns, historical re-enactors, dance schools, circus performers, Gaelic football clubs, and a fine showing by members of Irish families who take part in the event year after year. All told, more than 50 participant groups join in the parade!

2020 Parade route

SATURDAY MARCH 21, 2020 - 2PM

Saint Patrick’s Day Parade route in Quebec city
Starting on the corner of Fraser street and Cartier avenue

trajet du defile de la saint-patrick a quebec

St.Patrick's High School

Porte Saint Louis

Le Concorde Hotel Quebec

Fairmont Le Chateau Frontenac

National Assembly of Quebec

City Hall

Registrations

Participants

Be right in the heart of the festivities!

The Québec City St Patrick’s Day Parade is more than 1000 participants, musicians, dancers, buskers, Irish-born families, charitable organizations, historical re-enactors, leprechauns and the ‘little people’, all of whom enliven downtown Quebec each year to the great delight of the spectators. Join the celebration!

Volunteers

Join the team!

Every year more than 120 volunteers pitch in to make the parade a shared festive and fun-filled event. Various positions are available: ranging from reception to security, as well as assistance with the setting up. Come join us!

2020 Grand Marshal

The Défilé de la Saint-Patrick de Québec is pleased to name Mrs. Pauline Bigaouette McCarthy as Grand Marshal for its 11th edition. Mrs. McCarthy is a pioneer and visionary in the field of cultural, recreational and philanthropical development of the local Irish community.

In 1952, Pauline Bigaouette married the late Royal Canadian Air Force Veteran Mr. Thomas McCarthy, a native of Shannon, where they built their home and where Mrs. McCarthy still lives today surrounded by her 5 children, 12 grandchildren and 2 greatgrandchildren.

An exceptional volunteer, she has served the Municipality of Shannon in numerous ways. Within the Catholic Women’s League, she served as both local president and Diocesan President organizing several community projects like annual field days, various pilgrimages, family picnics, sleigh rides and fundraisers.

One of her most remarkable projects remains the Shannon Irish Show. Not only did she initiate different choral groups such as the Pride of Shannon, the Belles and Beau’s and the Shannon Rovers, she went as far as to convince a renowned Irish dance instructor to come from Ireland to teach here! To this day, the Shannon Irish Dancers still participate annually in the Défilé de la Saint-Patrick.

As early as the mid 1970’s she instigated, with the collaboration of the Eastern Quebec Regional School Board, what was to become the Shannon Municipal Library.

As Municipal Councillor from 1987 to 1991, she was active in organizing school bussing for the community.

In 1989, Mrs. McCarthy founded The Shannon Historical Society (SHS). Thanks to her, many new streets now bear the names of founding members of the community. The SHS was also behind the preservation and relocation of an original Shannon school house to St. Patrick’s Street where it remains a popular historical site today. Mrs. McCarthy was the driving force behind the publication of a historical recounting that documents the origins of the people of Shannon called “Where Green is Worn”. Under Mrs. McCarthy’s leadership, the SHS team was involved in the implementation of an annual Remembrance Day Ceremony with a significant participation from the soldiers at Base Valcartier. In June of 1997, Mrs. McCarthy was instrumental in the erection of the Celtic cross installed alongside St. Joseph’s Chapel to honour the citizens of Shannon and their ancestry.

Mrs. McCarthy was awarded the Queen’s Jubilee Medal and the National Assembly Medal for her volunteerism.

In honouring Mrs. Pauline McCarthy, the Défilé acknowledges heroutstanding contributions within the Irish community of Shannonand beyond. She is an inspiring and determined force who continually promotes and preserves the memory of our ancestors.

Saint Patrick’s Day in Quebec City!

The Défilé de la Saint-Patrick de Québec invites you to consult Saint-Patrick à Québec! to find out all the activities concerning the Saint Patrick’s Day Parade and celebrations in Quebec City.

A parade accessible to everyone

A paratransit (STAC) pick up point will be provided for returns at the end of the Parade. Passengers must be members of STAC and transportation must be booked 1 week before the event, which takes place on March 21.

Please contact us by March 11 to reserve the service:
info@qcpatrick.com

To find out more about paratransit (STAC):
https://www.rtcquebec.ca/en/paratransit-stac

X

ANNULÉ
Défilé de la Saint-Patrick
à Québec

Le défilé

  • + de 50 000 visiteurs
  • + de 1000 participants
  • + de 120 bénévoles

Samedi 21 mars 2020 dès 14 h 
Centre-ville de Québec
Le vert est à la fête!

Le samedi 21 mars, le centre-ville de Québec résonnera au son des cornemuses et au pas des participants du 11e Défilé de la Saint-Patrick de Québec!

Les classiques

Cinq groupes de cornemuses et percussions de l’extérieur sont de la fête avec la présence de Boston (Boston Police Gaelic Column of Pipes and Drums), New York (Pipes & Drums Of The Emerald Society of the New York City Police Department), Chicago (Pipes and Drums of the Chicago Police Department), Toronto (Toronto Fire Services Pipes and Drums), ainsi que Philadelphie (Philadelphia Police and Fire Pipes and Drums). Le Défilé de la Saint-Patrick de Québec offre une occasion unique de voir tous ces groupes performer dans un même événement.

L’unité d’apparat du Service de police de la Ville de Québec se joint aussi à la fête avec le RCMP Pipes, Drums and Dancers – le corps de cornemuses de la GRC,  le Olde Fort St. Andrew’s du 78th Fraser Highlanders, Montréal Pipes and Drums, NCSM Montcalm, le Drumline du Rouge & Or, les Titans, les Éclairs et les Druméthiques de Québec. Un total de 10 fanfares participeront au défilé cette année!

Un défilé coloré

Les citoyens verront également défiler des lévriers irlandais, des troupes de danse celtique, des farfadets, des animateurs historiques, écoles de danses, artistes de cirque professionnels, clubs de football gaélique, et une belle représentation de familles irlandaises qui participent à l’événement année après année. Au total, plus de 50 groupes de participants se joignent au Défilé!

Trajet 2020

SAMEDI 21 MARS 2020 - 14H

Trajet du défilé de la Saint-Patrick à Québec
Départ rue Fraser, au coin de l'avenue Cartier

trajet du defile de la saint-patrick a quebec

St.Patrick's High School

Porte Saint Louis

Hôtel Le Concorde Québec

Fairmont Le Château Frontenac

Hôtel du Parlement de Québec

Hôtel de ville

Inscriptions

Participants

Sois au cœur de la fête!

Le Défilé de la Saint-Patrick de Québec, c’est plus de 1000 participants, musiciens, danseurs, amuseurs publics, familles de souche irlandaise, organismes charitables, personnages historiques, lutins et farfadets, qui animent le centre-ville de Québec chaque année, pour le plus grand bonheur des spectateurs. Faites partie de la fête!

Bénévoles

Joins-toi à l'équipe!

Plus de 120 bénévoles contribuent chaque année à faire du défilé un moment festif et de partage dans la bonne humeur. Différents postes sont à pourvoir: de l’accueil, à la sécurité en passant par l’aide au montage. Joins-toi à nous!

Grand Marshal 2020

Le Défilé de la Saint-Patrick de Québec est heureux de nommer Mme Pauline Bigaouette McCarthy au poste de Grand maréchal pour sa 11e édition. Mme McCarthy est une pionnière et une visionnaire dans le domaine du développement culturel, récréatif et philanthropique de la communauté irlandaise locale.

En 1952, Pauline Bigaouette a épousé le regretté vétéran de l’Aviation royale canadienne Monsieur Thomas McCarthy, originaire de Shannon, où ils ont construit leur maison et où Pauline continue de vivre aujourd’hui, entourée de ses 5 enfants, 12 petits-enfants et 2 arrière-petits-enfants.

Bénévole exceptionnelle, elle a servi la municipalité de Shannon de plusieurs façons. Au sein de la Ligue des femmes catholiques, elle servira d’abord comme présidente locale puis comme présidente diocésaine, travaillant à l’organisation de multiples projets communautaires, qu’il s’agisse de sorties, de pèlerinages, de pique-niques, de promenades en traîneau ou de collectes de fonds.

Un de ces projets les plus remarquables demeure le Shannon Irish Show. En plus d’y fonder différents groupes choraux tels que Pride of Shannon, Belles and Beau’s, et les Shannon Rovers, elle a poussé son engagement jusqu’à convaincre un professeur de danse irlandaise de renom de venir d’Irlande pour enseigner chez nous ! À ce jour, les Shannon Irish Dancers continuent de participer chaque année au Défilé.

Dès le milieu des années 1970, elle met en place, avec la collaboration de la Commission scolaire régionale de l’Est du Québec, ce qui allait devenir la première bibliothèque municipale de Shannon.

Conseillère municipale de 1987 à 1991, elle joue un rôle essentiel dans l’organisation du transport scolaire.

En 1989, madame McCarthy fonde la Société historique de Shannon (SHS). C’est grâce à elle que plusieurs nouvelles rues portent aujourd’hui le nom de membres fondateurs de la communauté. La SHS a aussi été impliquée dans la sauvegarde et la relocalisation d’une école de rang originale de Shannon vers la rue St. Patrick où elle demeure aujourd’hui un site historique populaire. Madame McCarthy a été le moteur de la publication d’un récit historique portant sur les origines de la population de Shannon intitulé « Where Green is Worn » (Là où le vert est porté). Sous sa présidence, l’équipe de la SHS a été impliquée dans l’élaboration d’une cérémonie annuelle du jour du Souvenir intégrant une importante participation des soldats de la base de Valcartier. En juin 1997, madame McCarthy a joué un rôle déterminant dans l’érection de la croix celtique installée à côté de la chapelle Saint-Joseph pour honorer les citoyens de Shannon et leurs ancêtres.

Madame McCarthy a reçu la Médaille du jubilé de la reine et la Médaille de l’Assemblée nationale pour son bénévolat.

En honorant madame Pauline McCarthy, le Défilé de la Saint-Patrick reconnaît sa contribution exceptionnelle auprès de la communauté irlandaise de Shannon et des environs. Elle est une force inspirante qui continue de promouvoir et préserver l’héritage de nos ancêtres.

La Saint-Patrick à Québec!

Le Défilé de la Saint-Patrick de Québec vous invite à consulter toutes les activités en lien avec la Saint-Patrick à Québec!

Un défilé accessible à tous

Un débarcadère STAC sera prévu pour les retours à la fin du Défilé. Les passagers doivent être membres du STAC et le transport doit être réservé 1 semaine avant l’événement, qui se déroulera le 21 mars prochain.

Merci de nous contacter d’ici le 11 mars pour réserver le service:
info@qcpatrick.com

Pour en savoir plus au sujet du STAC:
https://www.rtcquebec.ca/Default.aspx?tabid=89

X